The Best Things In Life Are Free

Remember the movie “Mo Money” with the Wayans brothers?  What a great movie!  Now, do you remember the theme song “The Best Things In Life Are Free”?  It was a song that Janet Jackson and Luther Vandross sang together that was produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis.  I know, I am aging myself, but I can’t help it, I love that song!  LOL  Anyway, that song really came to my mind tonight.

I have a 7 year old son, and I have been waiting 7 long years for him to watch football with me.  Well, tonight was tIMAG0262_1he night.  My son sat and watched an entire half of the Packers-Bears game with me tonight.  His bedtime came at half-time.  When we were putting him to bed, he told me that I could not finish watching the game without him, and we had to DVR it so that we could watch another night together.  I told him I would do that for him.  Now, I sit watching the game as I type this blog.  I know, I know, I am a terrible dad, but I could not help myself! LOL  However, I did DVR the game and I will watch it again with him another night.

The point of all of this is that this was one of the best nights of my life, and it came for free.  For a football loving dad, for me to be able to sit and watch football with my only son for the first time ever is a moment that I will remember for a lifetime.  Many of us work so hard and work so many hours searching for the “American Dream” and bowing to the almighty dollar.  There is no money in the world that could have bought something to top what I experienced tonight.  I know as well as anyone the importance of money, but always keep things in perspective, because the best things in life truly are free!

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

