Who Is To Blame?

All of us go on sales calls that we sell, and ones that we don’t sell.  When you don’t make a sale, who is to blame most often?  Is it your fault or the prospect’s fault?  I have some shocking news for you… It is always your fault!  Live by this rule, and you will grow immensely.  I am looking to buy a new car, and I was just about to get one last night until the sales person blew it.  car-dealership

We had what I thought was a deal worked out.  I was in the Managers office signing all of the paperwork (warranty, mileage, plates, etc.) and the last pieces of paper presented were the contracts that included the sales numbers.  When I looked at the contract, the car was $1,500 more than I thought it would be, so I stopped the manager at that point.  I let him know that the price was $1,500 more than I agreed to.  At that point, he went and got the sales person who I had been dealing with.  What the sales person explained was that the price of the car he gave me included a manufacturer rebate of $1,500.  My understanding was that the $1,500 was NOT included in the price he presented me with for the car, and that amount was still to come off the price of the car.  So, we sat there $1,500 apart, and the sales person looked at me and said “well, I was clear”.  I told him that obviously he wasn’t because we somehow had different opinions on the $1,500.  He went on to tell me that I can change my mind if I wanted, but he was clear.  Well, that ended that meeting, and I left with no new car.  As I was leaving, I heard the sales person tell someone else that I changed my mind about buying the car.

Here is the moral of the story.  I did not change my mind and I am going to buy that same type of car elsewhere.  Had the sales person just kindly apologized for the confusion, and not placed blame on me, I would have paid the extra money and drove the car home last night.  However, the way it was handled by the sales person cost him a sale.  The whole problem here was that he did not have the ability to self – analyze and take responsibility.  In my situation of buying the car, I am not sure where the blame should lie; it was probably just simple miscommunication.   However, as the sales person, you need to always take responsibility for each situation.  The sales person could have corrected this situation and made a sale, but he is probably still blaming me rather than himself today.  He is probably thinking that he handled everything perfectly and there was nothing more he could do.  How wrong that thinking is.

As sales people, the ability to win or lose a sale is in our hands much more than we realize.  We control the outcome with our actions, our words, our body language, etc.  The second that we, as sales people start to believe that the prospect is in control of the outcome of the sales call, we lose control of every selling situation, and that is not a good place to be.

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

