Thank you Veterans!

I wVeteran_Funeral_Flag-01ould like to take this time to thank all of the veterans who have served our country and our people over the years.  I have never served in the armed forces, so my intelligence on the amount of selflessness, support, dedication, good will, loyalty, bravery, sacrifice, courage, and inspiration that our service men and women must possess is relatively low.  When  it comes down to it, I have no idea what our service people have gone through and continue to go through every single day.  What I do know is that with the qualities mentioned above, they take these qualities to much deeper levels than most of us non-service people do, and my appreciation for that is tremendous.

In today’s information age, we as a country are fed a great deal of information each and every day.  We probably have access to much more information than we actually need.  I can go on-line right now and find just about any information I want on just about anyone or any topic I choose.  Then, based on the information I find on-line, or hear in the news, or hear about from other people, I form my own opinions.  However, my opinions are basically heavily influenced by what I have seen or heard, and keep in mind that the news I see or hear is typically given to me in a strategically, well thought out way.  By the way, how that information is provided is usually a biased opinion of someone else.  So, really when it comes down to it, I am really just re-configuring others’ ideas so that I can convince myself that they are my ideas rather that someone else’s.  However, the reality of the situation is that our opinions are most often based around someone else’s opinions and ideas, or at a minimum, some type of spin-off of someone else’s thoughts.

My point here is that all of the information that we have in regards to the status of our nation comes via the avenues mentioned above, and what has been created through all of this is an overall negative view of our country.  Our view of our country these days may be at an all-time low, but now more than ever we need to keep these negative thoughts in perspective.  We still live in one of the wealthiest, most comfortable places to live in the world.  We do not love in Uganda where 300 children die from malnutrition every hour.  We do not live in North Korea which still has concentration camps and labor camps filled with torture.  We do not live in Iraq where there is war in the streets every day.  I think you get the point.  thank_you_veterans_

Yes, there are many ways our country can improve.  Yes, the country is not where I would like it to be.  But if I may be harsh and honest, I can honestly look at myself in a mirror and say the exact same things about myself, can you?  I am not perfect as is no one or no country.  Today, be happy and proud for what you have.  Today, is a day to remember and honor all the good that is our country…the people who fought and still fight today to keep us free!!!  THANK YOU VETERANS!!!

-The Sales Leader

2 thoughts on “Thank you Veterans!

  1. I completely agree with the sentiment of this article, and this doesn’t take away from that, but in the interests of preventing mis-information from spreading, I have to say that 300 children don’t die every hour from malnutrition in Uganda. That equates to 2.6 million children a year, which is much more likely the global number of deaths caused by malnutrition (Uganda has maybe 400,000 deaths per year for all ages/causes). While Uganda isn’t the USA, it’s still a great country and putting it next to North Korea as an example of a terrible place to live does it a great disservice.

    • Leonard, thank you for pointing out my error. 300 children do die per hour from malnutrition, however that is the number of children that die per hour in the world, not just Uganda. My apologies for the error. Uganda has about 11 or 12 children die per hour due to malnutrition. I am not trying to speak negatively about Uganda specifically for any reason, it was just an example of a place where children are dying at a much faster rate from malnutrition in comparison to many other places in the world. 4% of the children dying in the world from malnutrition are dying in Uganda. However, the population of Uganda is less than 1/2% of the world’s population. So, the point being that the percentage of children dying from malnutrition is much higher in Uganda than it is in many other countries.

      Please know I have nothing at all against Uganda. It was simply an example of another area of the world that is struggling more than we are in our country, and we should be thankful to live where we do.

      -The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

