Turn Negatives Into Opportunities

Man, this world can be an extremely brutal place to live, that is for sure.  If you take a close look at your everyday life and the news around you, it can be downright demoralizing.  Have you heard of the new “game” called “Knockout‘?  This game is a fast growing concern in our nation, and at this point, I have heard of it being “played” in Washington DC, New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia and St Louis.  I am sure there are other cities where the game is being “played” as well.  This is a “game” where, what I would call punks, will randomly attack innocent strangers and punch them somewhere on their bodies, usually in the face or chest.  They want to see if they can knock the strangers out, thus the name “knockout”.  I know that at least one person has died from this “game”, and several others have been injured.  Sadly enough, the targets of these attacks can be anyone from single men to women with children, and this is something that is a concern for our country TODAY!

Another tragedy that is a concern TODAY, is the aftermath of the small towns in central Illinois that have been devastated by tornadoes.  One of those towns, Washington, IL is especially close to me.  I grew up in and around Washington during my grade school years.  I went to school in Washington when I was in 2nd and 3rd grade.  I had many family and friends living in Washington as well.  There are only a few of them still living there at this point, and I believe all of them to be ok, but there are many other people who lost their lives, their loved ones, and their homes.

I will give you one more storyline that is even a little closer to me TODAY than the Washington, IL tornado tragedy.  I have a family member who is in need of lung transplant, and this is something that needs to happen quickly in an attempt to save her life.  She has been sick for quite some time now and it has gotten to the point that this is the only option that exists for her to continue to extend her life.

What we have here are three tragedies that have some type of effect on me in some way, shape or form.  They don’t all have a direct impact on me, but they are all seriously negative things going on that I have the ability to help with to some extent.  We all have the ability to complain about the negative sets of circumstances that we have in our lives.  However it is the negative circumstances that give us the ability to help in these certain situations.  When you come across a rough time in your life, or see others going through a rough time, what are you doing to help the situation?

In the first situation of the “knockout game”, I am able to positively help by sharing the information and educating people so that they know what to look out for, and they don’t become a victim.  If I share this information, and the information I share educates someone on the topic so they do not become the victim, it gave me an opportunity to help.

In the second situation of the tornados ripping through central Illinois, we are donating money, food, and cleaning supplies to help those in need.  If I can give something to help feed or clothe even just one person, I have been able to positively influence someone’s life in a time of need.

In the third situation of my family member needing a lung transplant, Red cross croppedmy wife and I are donating blood for her cause.  The blood that I am giving will be a match for someone in need that could use it, and I will positively affect at least one person in this situation as well.

The point here is that I could sit back and do nothing in all of these situations, and rather than sitting around complaining about the world today, I am finding ways that I can personally make a difference.  No one individual will save the world, but your actions may be able to help someone else and may even save a life.  Take the negative situations in your life and see them as opportunities to help those who need it.  Someday you may need the help as well!

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

