Leaving A Legacy

TNelson Mandelahe world lost one of our greatest leaders in history yesterday with the passing of Nelson Mandela.  This is a man who’s legacy and spirit will live on for many years to come.  If you have not had a chance to learn about the history of Nelson Mandela, I would highly encourage you to do so.  I know that most of us believe that we go through a life that is filled with experiences, trials, tribulations and accomplishments, but none of us will probably ever live a life like Nelson Mandela did.  I do not claim to be an expert on the life of Nelson Mandela by any stretch of the imagination, however I do know enough to know that we should be honored that we have had the privilege of sharing this world with him.

Nelson Mandela was a man who spent 27 years in prison because he was fighting for what he thought was right.  The courage and passion that it must take to be willing to be imprisoned in horrifying conditions just because you are fighting for what you believe in is something that most of us will never understand.  Mandela was finally released from prison in 1990.  After wrongfully spending 27 years in prison, most of us would not even be able to function normally as a human beings, Nelson Mandela was just the opposite.  He went on to receive more than 250 honors including the Nobel Peace Price and the US Presidential Medal of Freedom.  In 1994, Nelson Mandela became the first ever black man to be named President of South Africa, where he spent 5 years serving in office.  After leaving office, Mandela spent the remainder of his “working years” as an activist and philanthropist serving those in need.

You want to talk about leaving a legacy, Nelson Mandela is the poster boy for leaving a legacy.  The question I ask of you is, what is the legacy that you will leave behind when your time has expired?  What will your headstone say?  If I am being honest, this is something that I think about quite regularly these days, although not until recently.  In the past, I would go through my life on my own agenda, doing my own thing.  I had no regard for others, my main concern was myself.  However, I began to think to myself…”is this the way that I want to be remembered”?  Is this the legacy I want to leave behind?  I came to the conclusion that it was not.  I began living my life, and making my decisions on how I would want to be remembered, on what I wanted my legacy to be.  Nelson Mandela 2

Life is short, make the most of it.  Give your all in everything you do.  If you are a doctor, be the best doctor you can be.  If you are a sales person, be the best you can be.  If you are a parent, love and care for your children beyond your wildest dreams.  If you are married, show your appreciation and adore your spouse to the nth degree.  If you are blessed enough with the ability to help those who are in need, what are you waiting for, help them, they need it!

‘”Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” – Nelson Mandela (7/18/13 – 12/5/13)

-The Sales Leader

 

2 thoughts on “Leaving A Legacy

  1. We all can learn from Mr. Mandela life of trails and victories. The man had great salesmanship. Thanks Kevin great post.

Leave a Reply

