Be The Best

I Les Brownwas at a seminar one time, and I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity of listening to one of the truly great motivational speakers out there, Les Brown.  At this point and time, I was the Director of Sales for one the largest home improvement companies in the basement waterproofing/foundation repair industry.  We were the 4th largest in our network, which made us probably one of the top 10 or 15 largest in the world doing what we do.  As I was sitting there at this convention listening to Les Brown speak, he asked the question, “Are you the best in the world at what you do?”.  He went on to state that if you were going to do something, and you were going to make a career of it, be the absolute best in the world at it.  Be the best you can be, and be the best there is.  I heard Les say that to me nearly 10 years ago now, and I remember it like it was yesterday.

Over the next two years, I was dedicated to being the best in the world at what I did, and I was able to accomplish just that.  We doubled in sales over the next two years, and we became the largest company in our network, and the largest in the world as far as we could tell.  As a company, we implemented a new sales process, new training programs, and a new sales culture.  We brought in new professionals who were a better fit for our desire to grow, and we groomed them.  We did a complete 180 degree overhaul, turning us into a true “sales machine”.  What I kept hearing during that time was Les Brown’s voice asking me, “Are you the best in the world at what you do?”.  I would not stop until I could say yes, and after a short period of time, I was able to do just that.

We all settle, and we all become complacent.  Why?  Usually out of laziness.  My focus has shifted these days.  Several years ago, my goal was to be the leader of the sales department for the largest basement waterproofing/foundation repair coBest in the worldmpany that existed, and I was able to do it.  Now, my goal is to be the BEST IN THE WORLD at developing “Sales Leaders”.  I want to be the best sales/leadership trainer that this world has to offer.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I have a great deal of work ahead of me to do to get there, and I will work diligently until I do.  It is a long road ahead, but I have the time, the drive and the desire to get there.  Do you?  What do you want to be the best in the world at, or are you already there?  If not, don’t stop, go get it!  If you are there, stay there, someone is going to try to knock you down!

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

