Parenthood, The Greatest Joy on Earth!

I feel so lucky and so blessed to have the children that I do, and I have to tell you, I LOVE MY KIDS!!!  I have an 11 year old daughter and a son who will be turning 8 next week.  We have two parties scheduled for my son, a family party and a friend party.  His family party is at our house this weekend, and his kid party is a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle party next weekend at a Karate/Martial Arts facility.  I have to tell you, I am so excited for my son as I get excited every year, twice a year for each child’s birthday.  To watch them celebrate, open gifts and be so excited, that is what makes me so excited!

Me and My Kids

Me and My Kids

I attribute this excitement to my kids and my relationship with them.  I am fortunate enough to be in a situation where I can spend a great deal of time with my kids, and with their desire to be around me as much as I desire to be around them, I take advantage of that.  When my daughter was in swimming, I was an announcer at her meets.  I have coached my son’s soccer and basketball teams.  I take Karate with my kids just about every Thursday night.  We vacation together multiple times per year.  I volunteer at my kids’ schools.  I have attended almost every event, concert, recital, game, parent-teacher conference, parent night, etc. that our kids have ever had.  Now, I must say that I am blessed with a loving and caring wife who shares the same desire as I do to be such a large part of our kids’ lives, and we could not do it without each other.  I apologize if it sounds like I am boasting.  That is not the point of this.  The point is that, as you hear from just about every parent that has ever existed, your children are not young forever and their desire to be around their parents diminishes as time goes on.  I know that the years that our children will WANT us around this much are limited, and our time is slowly running out.

Velpel Family at Disney

Our children need our love, our guidance and our support when they are at this young impressionable age.  The quantity and quality of time that we spend with our children will leave a lasting impression on them, and on us as parents.  This time of life helps mold who we are, and who we will be in the future.  I want my children to remember me as a father who was there for them and made time for them, because quite honestly to me, parenthood is the greatest joy on earth!

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

