Control What You Can Control

I wControlas listening to ESPN radio this morning, and I heard a quote that was spot on. I just caught the end of the conversation, and I am not sure who was talking and who I am quoting, but I do know it was a football player. He said “Control what you can control and don’t worry about what you can’t control”. What he was referring to was the upcoming Superbowl that is being played in “Don’t call me New York”, New Jersey. Everyone keeps talking about the weather and how the weather can affect the players, and his point was that they players cannot control the weather, so they should not worry about it? They should focus on the things that they can control.

I know, I know, all of you top tier professionals would be telling me that I should be listening to something that can provide me with more intellectual growth than ESPN, and most days you would be right, but at least for today, I can argue that point! LOL Anyone listening to ESPN this morning, would have been able to take away a great learning moment. Even though in this particular situation, the football player was referring to football, we can easily translate that to our everyday life, both professionally and personally.

It ladder manis human nature that we worry, and that is not going to change. However, we can control what we worry about, and we should not worry about the things that are out of our control. For example, many sales people worry about what the competition is doing far too much. We cannot control what the competition does, so why do we worry about it? We need to spend our time and energy focusing on the things that we can control…ourselves and our actions. Worrying about things that we have no control over are not going to make us better, because we can’t do anything about it. What we can do something about is ourselves and our actions, and that is where our focus should be!

-The Sales Leader

Leave a Reply

